For Immediate Release Kathryn Greiner, Condon City Administrator cityofcondon@jncable.com/541-384-2711

Condon Joins Oregon Cities of Sandy, Independence, Gresham, Portland & Lake Oswego as Next Century Cities Leader for High-Speed Internet

Nationwide initiative supports broadband investment for community development

September 14, 2016 – Today, Mayor Jim Hassing announced **Condon** has joined Next Century Cities, a bipartisan, city-to-city initiative dedicated to ensuring the availability of next-generation broadband Internet for all communities.

"Next Century Cities principles that high speed internet is necessary infrastructure, the internet is nonpartisan, communities must enjoy self-determination, high speed internet is a community wide endeavor, meaningful competition drives progress and collaboration benefits all seem to fit in perfectly with our strategic plan," said Mayor Hassing. "This group will allow us resources to connect with other cities to reach our broadband goals."

"Next Century Cities is extremely excited to welcome **Condon** as the 150th community to join our organization in support of high-speed internet access for all," said Deb Socia, Executive Director of Next Century Cities. "Next Century Cities started less than two years ago to support mayors and city leaders who are working to achieve the benefits of broadband investments for business, schools, government engagement, and more. Having Condon join us as our 150th member shows that communities small and large across the nation are coming together to ensure critical 21st century broadband infrastructure for their residents."

To date, 150 cities and their elected leaders have joined Next Century Cities in recognition of the importance of leveraging gigabit-level Internet to attract new businesses and create jobs, improve health care and education, and connect residents to new opportunities. Next Century Cities will support communities and their elected leaders across the country as they seek to ensure that all have access to fast, affordable, and reliable Internet.

Next Century Cities member cities include: Albany (NY), Albuquerque (NM), Alexandria (VA), Alford (MA), Ammon (ID), Arvada (CO), Atlanta (GA), Auburn (IN), Austin (TX), Baltimore (MD), Berkeley (CA), Beverly Hills (CA), Bexley (OH) Biloxi (MS), Bloomington (IN), Boise (ID), Boston (MA) Boulder (CO), Bryan (TX), Burbank (CA), Burlington (WA), Carbondale (IL), Carl Junction (MO), Canton (OH), Cedar Falls (IA), Centennial (CO), Centerville (UT), Champaign (IL), Chapel Hill (NC), Charlotte (NC), Chattanooga (TN), Chewelah (WA), Chicopee (MA), Chula Vista (CA), Clarksville (TN), College Station (TX), Columbus (OH), Colville (WA), Condon (OR), Cortez (CO), Culver City (CO), Davidson (NC), Duluth (MN), Egremont (MA), Emmett (ID), Erie (PA), Fairlawn (OH), Fayetteville (AK), Fort Collins (CO), Fountain Valley (CA), Fresno (CA), Gainesville (TX), Garden Grove (CA), Gaylord (MN), Grand Junction, (CO), Grandview (MO), Granville (OH), Gresham (OR), Hagerstown (MD), Hartford (CT), Hays (KS), Highland (IL),

Huntington Beach (CA), Independence (OR), Islesboro (ME), Jackson (TN), Jefferson (GA), Kansas City (KS), Kansas City (MO), Lafayette (LA), Lakeland (FL), Lawrence (KS), Lake Oswego (OR), Layton City (UT), Lewiston (ME), Leverett (MA), Lexington (KY), Longmont (CO), Los Angeles (CA), Louisville (KY), Lowell (MA), Madison (WI), Marina (CA), Martin County (FL), Medina County (OH), Mesa (AZ), Missoula (MT), Montgomery County (MD), Monticello (MN), Montrose (CO), Morristown (TN), Mount Vernon (WA), Murray City (UT), New Bedford (MA), New Haven (CT), Northampton (MA), Oakland (CA), Opelika (AL), Orem (UT), Palo Alto (CA), Pasco County (FL). Pikeville (KY). Pittsburgh (PA). Ponca City (OK). Portland (OR). Prestonsburg (KY), Provo (UT), Raleigh (NC), Richmond (CA), River Falls (WI), Riverside (CA), Riverside County (CA), Roanoke (VA), Rockport (ME), Rome (GA) Salisbury (NC), Sallisaw (OK), San Antonio (TX), San Francisco (CA), San Jose (CA), San Leandro (CA), Sandy (OR), Sanford (ME). Santa Cruz County (CA). Santa Monica (CA). Saratoga Springs (NY). Scarborough, (ME), Schenectady (NY), Seattle (WA), Shaker Heights (OH), Socorro (NM), South Portland (ME), South San Francisco (CA), Spanish Fork (UT), Stamford (CT), Syracuse (NY), Thompson's Station (TN), Tucson (AZ), Tullahoma (TN), Urbana (IL), Vallejo (CA), Vancouver (WA), West Hartford (CT), West Hollywood (CA), Westminster (MD), Wilson (NC), Windom (MN), Winters (CA), Winthrop (MN), and Yellow Springs (OH).

###